Articles on Climate Change

Mlle. Zabzie

I love my mother and she is usually a rational, sensible person about most issues. She has a blind spot the size of a tractor trailer though - she refuses to believe in climate change. I have tried "because science", but I've gotten back "well the weather doesn't seem any different than when I was a growing up". I've tried explaining that her experience isn't evidence and that the trends are longer and bigger than that (because science). I've also tried explaining that the scientific community's consensus is "climate change". She has responded that she thought the studies were debunked. After our latest round she's promised to actually read stuff on the subject. That's what I'm looking for here. I'm not a scientist at all, and I'd live to be able to cite her something like an article summarizing peer reviewed articles. Help from the Board Hive Mind? Thanks!

Problem is if you are 18 years old or younger, you have lived your whole life without any warming. How long can that go on before the credibility of the warmists is damaged?

Another factor is the solutions always involve 1) confiscation/redistribution of wealth and 2) restrictions on human activity. Once you start advocating taking away people's wealth and freedom, the issue is no longer an academic exercise.

Problem is if you are 18 years old or younger, you have lived your whole life without any warming. How long can that go on before the credibility of the warmists is damaged?

This either shows a fundamental misunderstanding of the topic or is a deliberate attempt at deception. Scientists do not cherry pick in that manner.

What about the last 15 years? This claim, too, is false, in two important ways: First, it actually has warmed over the past 15 years, and second, the past 15 years are themselves among the warmest in the past 130 years.

http://blogs-images.forbes.com/petergleick/files/2012/02/GlobalT-15yrs.png