Can someone please explain

bellyfrog

Hey,

I've only recently joined the forums and I've been reading a lot of the theories knocking around. R+L=J seems to be the most commonly believed one, it's also the only one I actually grasped upon reading the books alone.

I'm just beginning my second read through and got to the chapter where Ned dreams about the Tower of Joy. It seems to be implied that the Kingsguard are there because they are protecting a king (believed to be Jon)?

What I don't understand is why they consider Jon the rightful heir as oppose to Viserys? When Aerys died surely the throne passes to Rhaegar and when he dies, on to Viserys.

Because when Aerys died the throne passes to Rhaegar and since Rhaegar died it passes to Jon.

It could have only gone to Viserys if Aerys didn't have a son or Rhaegar died. But Jon would have been conceived before Rhaegar died therefor Rhaegar would have had an Heir.

When the King dies, his son(Rhaegar) is next in line,then Rhaegar's son's would be before Viserys. Only when Aegon was "killed" did Viserys become the next in line. And I think that R+L=J is true but that Jon is still a bastard, not trueborn and therefore would have no claim to the throne. They were there because Rhaegar ordered them to be there.

The mad king was dead by the time Ned went to save Lyanna. Aerys dead ---> Tyrells surrender ---> Tower of Joy ---> Stannis takes Dragonstone.

Yes but when Rhaegar left the ToJ, the mad king was still alive and well at KL, so they would still go back to KL if their orders were to protect the king, because even in that circumstance, and for arguments sake I'll even say Jon is legit, Jon is still 4th in line behind the mad king, Rhaegar, and Aegon, so why would they protect the 4th in line?