A Simpler Varys Theory

Fisch

I'm rather new to all the theories swirling around ASoIaF, and I'm sure I haven't read all of them. Of those I've read, some seem plausible, others unlikely and overly convoluted, even for GRRM.

When it comes to Varys, I've read a few - that he's a Blackfyre, that he's a Faceless Man, that he and Illyrio are using each other but each have their own master plans, etc. I'm skipping over Varys' true identity here, but on the matter of his and Illyrio's plans, some of the theories I've read seem way too complicated. Re-reading the relevant Arya chapter from AGoT, I got a theory of my own going, one I think simpler and more plausible than some of the more complex ones. Key to it is assuming that everything Arya heard them discussing was honest, that Varys was sincere when he claimed he wanted to keep Robert alive, and that he's sincere about supporting Aegon.

(If others have hit on the theory I'm about to detail, please let me know - as I said, I haven't read all the theory threads here.)

Their plan was:

1. Sit and wait until the Dothraki were ready to invade, Aegon was of age, and the Golden Company free.

2. Once the Dothraki were ready, destabilize Westeros somehow.

3. Facilitate the Dothraki invasion and let them go to town on the country.

4. Bring in Aegon with the Golden Company to drive out the Dothraki. Aegon would be welcomed as a hero and crowned, and if Dany and Viserys were still alive, they could be used to build a Trinity of Targaryens as of old, or discarded if they were troublesome.