Exactly what is the Cthullu Mythos ?

Malik Ambar

I mean I know what Cthullu is, but exactly what all stories, works of which writers, and which canonical creatures constitute the Mythos? And why is it named after Cthullu specifically ? I'm basically a noob to Lovecraft's works and would like to know where/ how to begin

To my limited knowledge it IS weird and confusing and there is probably no consensus what is "canonical", especially of non-HPL-writings. The name Cthulhu was probably chosen because the eponymous story was well known, the name weird enough, but not as bad to remember, pronounce and spell as Nyarlathotep...

Seriously, though. If anyone has any recs for modern cosmic horror novels, I would be very grateful. I've been hunting around the internet recently, trying to find something I can get my teeth into. But mostly, all I can find are short story anthologies, or stuff written before 1950. Meh. I'm not interested in Lovecraft. Tried on many occasions to get into him, but the overwrought prose and casual racism is just too much of a turn off.

Good examples of the sort of stuff I'm looking for:

That Which Should Not Be, by Brett Talley

Miskatonic University has a long-whispered reputation of being strongly connected to all things occult and supernatural. From the faculty to the students, the fascination with other-worldly legends and objects runs rampant. So, when Carter Weston’s professor Dr. Thayerson asks him to search a nearby village for a book that is believed to control the inhuman forces that rule the Earth, Incendium Maleficarum, The Inferno of the Witch, the student doesn’t hesitate to begin the quest.