Is it possible that Jon was born premature?

Pikachu101

The more I think about it the odder it is that Lyanna had medical attention or assistance. If she did she wouldn't be dying in her own blood and I'm pretty sure she would have survived childbirth if she was in sanitary conditions.

I mean if sickly Elia could survive two pregnancies despite both of them almost killing her then I see no reason why healthy Lyanna would die.

I think Rhaegar's plan was to wait until the last minute to get a midwife, that way he can insure Visenya's (I think it's pretty obvious he expected the baby to be a girl) safe delivery but at the same time Lyanna's whereabouts won't be known until necessary.

But then he went to fight Robert and say Lyanna finds out about her family and Westeros. Could the shock have caused early labour?

It would explain how Howland's the only one who still knows what happened all those years ago

I'm no expert on pregnancy but it seems to me she's likely an emotional wreck at this time no matter what scenario you subscribe to. If they love each other, she's had to spend the whole term of her pregnancy coping with the fact that their love started a war and no matter who wins, her family or her love, she's going to lose. If she's a victim, she had to endure rape along with prolonged imprisonment. That sort of emotional duress does take it's course on a body, and couple that with a pregnancy and it's entirely possible that the combination did her in. To say nothing of this is virtual medieval medical science we have here and all kinds of things can go wrong, women dying during childbirth wasn't uncommon.

The text has Ned remembering the babies head crowning when he thinks of Lyanna, doesn't it? I'm not sure that a mother could crown a prem baby? Perhaps, again, someone who knows more about childbirth is needed to answer this.

The most common cause of maternal death is blood loss, which would be consistent with the description of Lyanna's passing.