Moments that didn't affect you as much

Tastes like Frey

Are there any moments in the series that you felt you should have reacted to differently?

Personally, Lady's death never really got to me. Sure I felt bad for Sansa, and the injustice of it kind of left a sour taste in your mouth, but I didn't need to put the book down for a minute or anything like so many other parts made me do.

Also this is my first time posting a topic, it's kind of a surreal feeling after lurking around here for so long...

Welcome! I am sort of in the same boat as you. Officially only been a member on here since August, but a regular "reader" since summer 2013.

I'd probably say Kevan's death by Varys. Durring my first read of the 5 books, and especially durring FFC and DWD, I really started to like Kevan as a character. Seemed level headed enough. But quite a while after that last epilogue (maybe a day later even), I explicitly remember telling myself, "holy moly, Kevan is dead." I had gotten so focused on Vary's speech that I almost forgot he actually killed the guy.

**assuming none of the crack-pottery about Kevan only being wounded is true.

I was more upset that Edwyn Frey turned down Dacey Mormont's invitation to dance than I was at the slaughter that followed.

Same here ! I don't know why, but the way she's denied that dance felt really harsh and really got to me. Maybe because it reminded me how innocent and young she was despite being a soldier. The slaughter was hard too but for a tons of other reasons, and this little moment got me more.

Davos' fake death in aFfF didn't affect me at all. It was really obvious he wasn't dead. I'm not sure GRRM tried to make it suspenseful or not, but that should be something that affects readers more imo. When I read that White Harbor had Davos' head on a spike with an onion in his mouth, I was like "Yeah, sure".