is Brandon death plausible?

foreign675

It kind of puzzles me how Brandon could strangle himself to death.

One of the things that happens right after you hang yourself, is that 5s or so after blood is not reaching your head you faint and loose conscience.

But you're not yet dead. Depending to how much the blood can not circulate well - if at all - dying requires still several minutes. In that time, the body goes through convulsions which 'attempt' to

free the person from the rope by simply pushing.

However, Brandon was not really hanged and his body wasn't really suspended from the floor. To strangle himself, he had to push with his own feet. But as soon as he would faint, he would fall back into a position in which the rope is no longer under sufficient tension to make him actually die.

This kind of thing kind of puzzles me, I'm not an expert but to my experience such thing is kind of impossible.

thoughts?

If he fainted, he wouldn't fall back to a standing upright position off the weight of the cord. Fainting would leave him suspended and yes, hanging.

but the rope needs to be extremely short for him to be left hanging.. so short he can't 'stand' on his knees.. in such a case he wouldn't have any space to stretch for a sword at all

The way I figured it, is that the cord used could be pulled tight, but wouldn't release on its own. See it as a kind of cable tie, only without the actual blockade on the chord. So even if Brandon could only strangle himself until he passed out, the cord around his neck would not release, and thus remain too tight, eventually killing him.

Brandon was on his knees with his hands tied behind his back.

the rope was a noose around his neck and attached to the wall, so the rope was horizontal when taught.

the noose would have cut off the windpipe and he would have choked on his own blood/fluid with all that strain trying to get to Ricky.