Careerchat

Inigima

I dunno if we've ever really had one, but here's a thread for all things career related. Questions, advice, networking, that kind of thing.

For my part, I have a first-round internal interview for leadership of my team this week. I only just got the interview confirmation, so I don't have a lot of time to do prep. I work in IT, and I've been doing the leadership job in an acting capacity for almost a year -- my old team lead seriously hurt himself almost a year ago and I took on most of the responsibilities then, and he came back for a couple weeks and then quit. But as much as I might feel I'm "owed" the job, it's not guaranteed and I have competition, and I need to nail the interviews. I haven't interviewed for anything in years and I'm more than a little terrified.

I don't think I really have great answers for the "common" interview questions. I don't know if I want to answer the "greatest weakness" question honestly. If I did, I would say that I don't delegate enough -- but there's a reason for that. I work with VIPs in the organization, so things really need to be done right, and I have years of experience that tell me they won't be. Like, a while back I was asked to accept help from a lower-level team to cover absences, so I agreed, and then his team lead told him not to go. And I have meetings that I go to in suits, and I've had people on my team covering show up in hoodies. But we're being asked to do more with less, and to not go mad I need to delegate more. But I'm concerned that copping to that will be a strike against me in a leadership role.