Novels with beautiful prose

Sophelia

Which novels contain the most beautiful prose?

It's been 23 years since I studied English language/literature at school. Now I am trying to write novels of my own, I am frustrated that so many of my sentences are just 'meh' (functional, unmemorable or clumsy). I'm not sure if my style has simply not developed since I was 16 (I tend to revert to sequences of short sentences with 'and' being my most common sentence connective :angry: ), or whether the style I developed for work (scientific reports and teaching materials for university students) has been detrimental to my creative writing.

So... I would like to study novels by authors who are widely regarded as having beautiful prose(doesn't have to be fantasy). Any suggestions? If you can say a bit more about why their prose is so good, that would be even better.

P.S. And if anyone knows of authors who didn't write very well when they were 40, but later become masters/mistresses of prose, I'd be very encouraged to hear of them. ;)

From the fantasy world, I would recommend G.G. Kay. I think that he had achieved what most beginner writers are *trying* and failing miserably to do. He makes the purple style work and turn it into an elegant, sparkling show of mastery. He mesmerizes me.

I think when your talking about stylists the name that comes to my mind instantly is Mervyn Peake (see Gormenghast).

Regarding authors currently, I really think Catherynne M Valente has the most aluring andc captivating prose I have read in a very long time. Her Yume Me Hon: Book of Dreams and The Labrynth are excercise in literary beauty. Just the first sentence in her Yume Me Hon: