Kings of Winter

Bride of Winter

A few questions..

1) What's the difference between a King of Winter and a King in the North? Believe me, I've tried to look, but I read different things everywhere, and none of them are consistent or substantial. The Wiki says that the Starks for a while were only Kings of Winter because the Boltons wouldn't kneel for thousands of years (so they weren't in control of the entire north), but does anyone else think it's a little more than that? Maybe I'm just overthinking it because "King of Winter" is such an awesome title, but especially seeing the north's ... colorful ... history/culture that's slowly surfacing, I wouldn't be surprised it it meant more than a just fancy synonym for King in the North :dunno: .

2) There's no precedent for a King ruling the entire north (ie. including the lands "beyond the wall" before the wall was built), is there? I'm not an expert on history, but it seems like the Starks were founded by Bran the Builder, who built the Wall and Winterfell. So unless there was a King before him...?

I'm getting off topic. My point is, I can't help but think about Jon and all of the support he has from the willdings (and his letting them below the wall), which seems to be pretty much unprecedented. Also the fact that they do have a King beyond the wall. Now Mance isn't exactly your typical king, but I still think there may be some way to unite the North with the Wildlings after all.

3) Do you think we'll see another King in the North / King of Winter rise (and hopefully stay) by the end of the series? I'm trying to be as objective as I can when I say this - but I really don't think the whole fuss about Robb uniting the North and the Riverlands and being the first KitN in 300 years was for nothing, even if the majority of the War of Five Kings was a red herring. I truly believe something will come of it.