The Latest News
Connect with Us

Notable Releases
From the Store
Game of Thrones Lannister Keychain
Game of Thrones Lannister Keychain
HBO US
Featured Sites
License Holders

Jump to content


Photo

Need books similar to GOT


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
8 replies to this topic

#1 jonnysnow

jonnysnow

    Commoner

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 10 November 2012 - 01:28 PM

Can people give me a few book recommendations that are similar to SOIAF?

I've been recommended: First Law by Joe Abercrombie but I'm struggling to maintain interest.

There has to be books like GOT and co out there?

#2 Crown

Crown

    just another soldier on a road to nowhere

  • Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,700 posts

Posted 10 November 2012 - 02:12 PM

Check out the literature section on the forums, there are some recommendation threads over there.

#3 Valyrian_Goddess

Valyrian_Goddess

    Squire

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 178 posts

Posted 10 November 2012 - 02:14 PM

I would suggest reading Historical Fiction it is very similar to Game of Thrones /smile.png' class='bbc_emoticon' alt=':)' />

#4 jonnysnow

jonnysnow

    Commoner

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 10 November 2012 - 02:20 PM

Cheers,

Didn't notice that section. Found a similar thread:

http://asoiaf.wester...ilar-to-asoiaf/

Really ought to be a sticky in literature clearly labled "books similar/like ASOIAF to stop newbies posting dup threads.

#5 jonnysnow

jonnysnow

    Commoner

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 10 November 2012 - 02:21 PM

I would suggest reading Historical Fiction it is very similar to Game of Thrones /smile.png' class='bbc_emoticon' alt=':)' />


any particular book?

#6 Valyrian_Goddess

Valyrian_Goddess

    Squire

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 178 posts

Posted 10 November 2012 - 02:22 PM

any particular book?


Books centralized around the wars of the roses such as Phillipa Gregory books or Jean Plaidy ones too /smile.png' class='bbc_emoticon' alt=':)' /> good luck! The White Queen for example was nice

Edited by Valyrian_Goddess, 10 November 2012 - 02:23 PM.


#7 jonnysnow

jonnysnow

    Commoner

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts

Posted 10 November 2012 - 02:43 PM

The White Queen for example was nice


cheers. will checky outy.

#8 Valyrian_Goddess

Valyrian_Goddess

    Squire

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 178 posts

Posted 10 November 2012 - 02:45 PM

cheers. will checky outy.


Your welcome glad I could help, it's by Phillipa Gregory it's the story of a British Queen called Elizabeth Woodville

#9 Errant Bard

Errant Bard

    Insane precursor of bad business

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,907 posts

Posted 10 November 2012 - 03:06 PM

There has to be books like GOT and co out there?

I like how you plunge ahead with the first recommendation here despite already being burned with Abercrombie and furthermore not even describing what "being like AGOT" is for you.

I respectfully suggest you read this thread then those:
http://asoiaf.wester...dations-series/
http://asoiaf.wester...nd-alone-books/
http://asoiaf.wester...ry-non-fic-etc/
http://asoiaf.wester...tion-book-list/

People will actually reply to "what is a book like asoiaf?" with -any- book in those threads, depending on their preferences... so be more specific, or just pick one at random and get another disappointment. (Don't forget to factor the tastes of those who rec stuff, too, something recommended by a college literature professor will likely not be the same as something recommended by a thirteen year old girl.)