Second Harper Lee novel to be released in July

Fez

http://abcnews.go.com/Entertainment/wireStory/harper-lee-published-july-28687808

Its essentially a sequel to To Kill a Mockingbird, being about Scout in her 30s in the 1950s. But it was actually written first. Harper Lee put out a statement about it:

"In the mid-1950s, I completed a novel called 'Go Set a Watchman,'" the 88-year-old Lee said in a statement issued by Harper. "It features the character known as Scout as an adult woman, and I thought it a pretty decent effort. My editor, who was taken by the flashbacks to Scout's childhood, persuaded me to write a novel (what became 'To Kill a Mockingbird') from the point of view of the young Scout.

"I was a first-time writer, so I did as I was told. I hadn't realized it (the original book) had survived, so was surprised and delighted when my dear friend and lawyer Tonja Carter discovered it. After much thought and hesitation, I shared it with a handful of people I trust and was pleased to hear that they considered it worthy of publication. I am humbled and amazed that this will now be published after all these years."

Its going to be released in July, the original text with no alterations, with a first run print of 2 million copies. I'm pretty excited. TKAM is one of the few mandatory school readings that I really, really enjoyed, and have read it several times since then.

The new book is set in Lee's famed Maycomb, Alabama, during the mid-1950s, 20 years after "To Kill a Mockingbird" and roughly contemporaneous with the time that Lee was writing the story. The civil rights movement was taking hold by the time she was working on "Watchman." The Supreme Court had ruled unanimously in 1953 that segregated schools were unconstitutional, and the arrest of Rosa Parks in 1955 led to the yearlong Montgomery bus boycott.