Marvel Cinematic Universe General Discussion 5: Getting some Strange

GallowKnight

When I see a trailer like that, that's what gives me confidence that the MCU can go on indefinitely. It looks so distinct from any other film in the MCU. Looks awesome.

This trailer hit me out of the blue this morning, I wasn't expecting it at all. 

Have to say on the whole I am impressed by it. Didn't know what to make of a Dr Strange movie. I have very little experience of him except maybe one comic I read as a kid, and then seeing the marvel animated movie they made ( which wasn't very good to be honest).

But this seems to be at least a reasonably brave move, it has some interesting visuals and is going for a slightly haunting, off kilter feel, which I think is a good idea and fits the material. 

20 minutes ago, Mike said:

forgettable villains.

It would help if they stopped killing them.

Liked the Strange teaser trailer, going big on the trippy elements which is good. I've never heard Cumberbatch do an American accent, I somehow assumed he'd still be English accented :P

12 minutes ago, Leap said:

With Chiwetel Ejiofor and Mads Mikkelsen chewing scenery, I think this movie has the best  chance to break Marvel's streak of forgettable villains.

On the other hand, Marvel's weak villains have almost always been in *spite* of great actors, so no reason that wouldn't continue. I mean, seriously, you did *that* with Mickey Rourke, Tim Roth, Christopher Eccleston, Lee Pace, the bald dude from House of Cards S1, Robert Redford ...?

Wasn't blown away by the trailer but I'm still expecting good things because all the ingredients are there from cast, character and Marvel.

They really shouldn't have put the inception shot in though.

24 minutes ago, denstorebog said: