The gap west of the wall. An easy point to cross south?

Hi all. I'm a big fan of the TV series and have just started on the books. I have a question based off the world map of the north/wall:

http://vignette3.wikia.nocookie.net/iceandfire/images/3/37/Ice_and_Fire_World_Map.png/revision/latest?cb=20130127004523

Looking at the lovely maps of Westeros I notice that the wall doesn't entirely span the whole length of the north. It hits a river and stops while the river continues to the end of the coninent. I'm not an expert, but it strikes me that this is surely an easy weak point for wildlings to cross to the south? Or even a barrierless part that White walkers can cross? Or have I missed something? While I'm aware not everything is explained, has anybody got an answer or exlaination for how the Free Folk or White walkers are kept from swimming south here please? Thanks.

On that note can white walkers cross rivers and oceans?

1 minute ago, eldanielfire said:

Hi all. I'm a big fan of the TV series and have just started on the books. I have a question based off the world map of the north/wall:

http://vignette3.wikia.nocookie.net/iceandfire/images/3/37/Ice_and_Fire_World_Map.png/revision/latest?cb=20130127004523

Looking at the lovely maps of Westeros I notice that the wall doesn't entirely span the whole length of the north. It hits a river and stops while the river continues to the end of the coninent. I'm not an expert, but it strikes me that this is surely an easy weak point for wildlings to cross to the south? Or even a barrierless part that White walkers can cross? Or have I missed something? While I'm aware not everything is explained, has anybody got an answer or exlaination for how the Free Folk or White walkers are kept from swimming south here please? Thanks.

On that note can white walkers cross rivers and oceans?