George R.R. Martin is King in his own Rite.

Grizzly A Mormont

I am new to The Game of Thrones. I have watched all Seasons 1-5. I will watch season 6 just as soon as it is released.  

George RR Martin authored a book series that became very popular. Then he sold the TV Rights and a TV series was made from it. Like that has never happened before. HBO, D&D have created, what many are saying, is the most successful series in TV history.

I have not read any fantasy or horror/suspense fiction books for almost 2 decades. Back when I did, I was disappointed with the tv or movie version, every time. I feel very fortunate to have watched the Game of Thrones before reading the books. They will be the first fiction books I pick up in a very long time.

I am getting to my question. Now that HBO and producers have gone beyond the storyline of the books, they have to collaborate with GRRM to carry the story line to the end of Season 8. Now GRRM gets to write books for the finals seasons after they have aired. He can write books that go well beyond the storyline of Season 8.  I have a feeling, that the books in the series that he writes from now on, will become, by far,  the most popular fantasy fiction books of all time.

Has that ever happened before, where a show or movie series goes farther beyond the storyline of the books where the author is still alive to write the books? Of is this new territory, in which George RR Marting is King.

So, I am asking if this has ever happened before. IF it has, I know it has never happened at this level.

I don't think GRRMs stories plot will extend very far beyond the plot of the TV series.  There will be some differences of course, but the final climaxes, major character deaths, etc, will be revealed by the TV series first.