Animosity Between Work Colleagues?

The Lord Bastard

Things are bad.

I'm an apprentice studying for entry into a new career and I live at a training establishment with all of my colleagues. From day one I was one of a group of eight. The group is now six.

At the beginning, there was one individual who cemented his place (through his own naivety) as the so-called "whipping boy." He continuously said the wrong thing and quite frequently whinged when something didn't go his way. The job is a merchant navy position, and because this individual went to sea cadets he had an unhealthy sense of entitlement from the very beginning. He was also obsessed with things such as rank, rules and regulations. I think this was primarily due to the fact that he enjoyed lecturing people. 

In fairness, he was the youngest but he was still twenty. Another group member was the oldest but probably the least responsible. He smoke, drank, gambled and his manners were dire, in the sense that he often interrupted people or just didn't listen to them.  This person and the sea cadet quite often came to blows. 

This, however, is where things get a little annoying...

There are two more group members who are significant here. One of them is ex-army and thinks of himself as tough, saying he had many fights during childhood and he comes across like a loose cannon who has calmed himself down a little. In my opinion, though, he's just cruel. He quite often makes negative remarks about people, even about people we don't even know such as passers-by. It's for this reason that I know for an absolute certainty that he had said things about me and because he's taken seriously it's always affected my standing in the group.