My thoughts on Varys and Illyrio's plan

Neddy's Girl

I'm rereading the entire series and I've broken off from ADWD after The Griffin Reborn to give some thought to how and why Varys and Illyrio brought us here.

I know, I know, this has been discussed tons of times, but I still have questions and I'm hoping you help me work through them.

I'm trying not to present this as an analysis or theory, but rather my observations and ponderings.

A couple of things:

I don't believe ASOIAF is simply about who gets to sit on the iron throne at the end - there's more to it than that.

I do have faith that GRRM has known all along where this is going.

I'm not a proponent of one Varys/ Illyrio theory over the others.

I'm not debating whether or not Aegon is real.

I love visiting the forum and reading theories so my thoughts have been somewhat shaped by the hard work other users have already put in.

I'll use spoiler tags where I go off on a tangent to try to maintain conciseness.

Varys and Illyrio's Aim:

Whether their motivation is benevolent, malevolent, revenge, self-interest, or simply Targaryen loyalty, it seems like Varys and Illyrio want Aegon VI (Targaryen, Blackfyre, Piss Water) on the iron throne.  He's the one into whom they put a great deal of time and effort to shape for rule.

Viserys and Daenerys:

In contrast to Aegon, Viserys and Daenerys seem to be ignored until they arrive at Illyrio's manse, six months before Dany's wedding.  This leads me to believe they weren't always part of the plan.  (otherwise, why risk their deaths while they had to fend for themselves?)

I think that either Varys and Illyrio suddenly realised the siblings could be of use, or something happened to make them take action.

It occurs to me that if Varys and Illyrio found out about the Martells' plan to marry Arianne to Viserys, they may want to prevent this by ensuring the loyalty of Dany and Viserys, or just keeping them busy.  But this is pure speculation on my part.