[Book Spoilers] TV Tywin

So, what do you think of TV Tywin? Charles Dance is perfect, but this episode he started to seem really out of character. Chit-chatting with his cupbearer, telling her stories, smiling at her, etc. IMO he is just way nicer than book Tywin. Plus, Arya has completely given herself away as a highborn with her being able to read and her speech. Not to mention, Tywin has smiled and raised his voice quite a bit in the show. I know it's a show...but book Tywin is infamous for never smiling or raising his voice, or showing much emotion at all. It's talked about all of the time in scenes that he's in. Are you liking this TV change or no?

Tywin never smiled. Not even once. Really and truly. I studied all his scenes with plenty of stop action and zoom. It never happened.

It is a tribute to Charles Dance’s immense skill at the Craft that he managed to exactly convey the very thing that we learn of Tywin, how although he never smiled, that now and again he would threaten to smile, and that this was terrible to behold.

Dance nailed it. Perfectly.

I have watched some of the episodes with interactive features and in one interview with Charles Dance he mentioned how his character is really intrigued by Arya and that he likes her which i think explains why he seems to like talking to her and having her around. But i agree that he is different from the book and seems, at times, a lot less formidable, but i dont so much mind the change

I was a Tywin fan before, and I think the series really isn't changing him, but rather just showing us more. Seeing more of him, he naturally seems more human. In the books, we are so often only hearing of the reputation, the legend that is Lord Tywin of House Lannister.

Tywin never smiled. Not even once. Really and truly. I studied all his scenes with plenty of stop action and zoom. It never happened.