Best written chapters?

Mormont'sRaven

I stated this in a similar thread yesterday, but the Red and Purple Weddings are in a league of their own.

Theon's Ghost in Winterfell chapter is amazing. I also love Arianne's Princess in the Tower chapter. Sansa's final chapter in ASOS is also beautiful. Barristan Selmy's Kingbreaker chapter also warrants mention.

Hmmm, as a writer I need to distinguish 'my favourites' with 'best written' here. I know as a writer that certain chapters that are 'wow and amazing' are actually quite easy to write, because they don't require you to be too technical. The chapter when Tyrion kills Tywin would be such. There's not too much complicated setting or movement between places, or too much physical action. There's just lots of punchy dialogue, which is easy for a writer like GRRM.

The Red Wedding wasn't the best for me. I was confused by what was taking place at first. In fact, it was only on third read that I understood exactly why Robb suddenly had three arrows in his chest. The 'Rains of Castamere' reference needed to be spelt out more, as I didn't at the time suddenly think Lannister. I was also confused by who had turned against the Starks until second read through.

I would say the Tyrion chapter of Blackwater was better than Davos'. That had me hooked on a night flight when I should have been fast asleep.

Jaime's two dream sequences are amazing. It's not too difficult to get dream sequences right but they do have to be appropriately prophetic without being too obvious and too cheesy. I think these did that. The scene in the House of the Undying too -- it held my interest, when I had been skim reading other Dany scenes!