Jaqen H'ghar

astonedtargaryen

I'm just beginning the re read of aCoK and wondered to myself....what is Jaqen H'ghar doing in a black cell?

I don't have the exact quote, but it's in Arya's POV that we hear about the three men Yoren keeps locked up in a cart, all procured from the black cells of the Red Keep.

As far as I know, Black Cells are reserved for the nastiest of the nasty, H'ghar's companions in the cart are shining examples of this, Biter and Rorge are their names I believe. From what we see of him later on, H'ghar seems to be an alright guy. His motivations are not entirely clear, but he does keep his word to Arya after she saves him.

Also, he is a master assassin. Very stealthy, it seems, and able to change his features.

How on earth did he end up getting thrown in the dungeons? And more importantly what could he have been doing to earn a place in the black cells?

I don't have any theories myself, but I am curious to hear yours :)

Well, we know he's a faceless man, so I imagine he was there on his own accord. Like you, I don't know why exactly he would want to be in locked in the cells. I know this has been talked about many times in the past, try and search the topic I'm sure you'll find what you're looking for.

Jaqen's goals are clearly centered on the Citadel/maesters, since after he is freed from his debt to Arya he immediately sets off there (he is the Alchemist who kills Pate and steals his identity). Whatever he was doing in King's Landing, it would likely be linked to that. There are theories he's on assignment to find a way to kill the dragons, but that doesn't make sense timeline wise, since he was grabbed by Yoren out of the cells right around the time the dragons were born. He may be in Oldtown to steal information, but this isn't really what the Faceless Men do, so unless he's gone rouge, there's really no way to tell what his deal is.