Iron Bank of Braavos

werewolf

The IB doesn't control even half the crown's debt. After Cersei ended repayment to the IB, the IB responded by refusing any new loans to merchants as well as demanding complete repayment of their loans. This does cause some economic chaos in Westeros.

I think a bigger question on my mind is the logistics of it. I am an accountant, and I find that having a bank having so much wealth and power in such a setting is astounding. Especially in light of the fact that everything in the world is controlled by gold or swords. How does a bank get so much money in the first place as well, from what I gather there are no stock markets or investments and it would seem unlikely that enough of the small folk or overseas merchants would place their money in the bank. Most banks are required to keep a percentage of total assets on hand; I wonder how much the bank keeps.

Not really. Significant sum is owed to them by the Iron Throne (altough much less significant then debt to Tywin), so when Cersei in her wisdom ceased payment - they started to support Stannis and lend him money. In addition, NW also borrowed some money from them, but I believe that's the extent of their connection with Westerosi economy.

Not to say they'll be unimportant in the future - their money can help Stannis prolong the war ad infinitum and generally make the plot more interesting :P. But I don't think they have economic grip on many of Westerosi houses and insitutions, at least judging from the books.

Especially in light of the fact that everything in the world is controlled by gold or swords. How does a bank get so much money in the first place as well