Rhaegar targaryen

Hello

This might have been discussed in some earlier topic, but since i'm kind of new here I thought I'd just start a new topic to get some answers. If they are out there

I was wondering about something Barristan the Bold told Danerys concerning Rhaegar. I think it was in ASOS

He said something about Rhaegar being smart boy, who liked to read. Then one day he just left the books and went to the Master of Arms saying: "it seems I must be a warrior". I don't have the books with me, but i think it was something like that

My question is what he had read to make him so certain that he had to be a warrior. Are there any theories to the significance of this? H Seeing as I'm a novice, hopefully some of the maesters of this forum can provide me with some answers :)

There are clues in the books and it has been theorized(heavily I might add) that Rhaegar got ahold of some ancient scrolls at a young age that dealt with the prophecy of The Prince Who was Promised. One example is the conversation with Barristan that you mention, and another would be when Dany goes into the house of the Undying and sees Rhaegar in a vision and he mentions to Elia that his son Aegon is The Prince Who was Promised. I believe Maester Aemon elaborates on it later, saying that Rhaegar originally thought the prophecy was speaking of himself, but then later thought that it must be his son.Many have made theories about how this might tie into the whole "abduction" of Lyanna as well.

So Rhaegar apparently took them very seriously and the prophecy directed many of the actions he took during his life. Once he was convinced that he was the Prince, he knew he was to be a warrior because the PWWP or Azor Ahai was obviously a great warrior of his time.

[quote name='Starks_are_Vikings' post='1711214' date='Mar 7 2009, 10.20']Hello