HERESY 50

Black Crow

Welcome to Heresy 50; the Dirty Half Hundred edition of the fast moving thread that offers an alternative interpretation of the Song of Ice and Fire. Its been quite a ride getting here after starting out in November 2011 as The Wall, the Watch and a Heresy; challenging the easy orthodoxy that the Others are evil incarnate and that the Wall was built all of 8,000 years ago to hold them at bay. But its also been a lot of fun.

:commie:

GRRM in an interview once stated …it was always my intention: to play with the reader’s expectations. Before I was a writer I was a voracious reader and I am still, and I have read many, many books with very predictable plots. As a reader, what I seek is a book that delights and surprises me. I want to not know what is gonna happen. For me, that’s the essence of storytelling and for this reason I want my readers to turn the pages with increasing fever: to know what happens next. There are a lot of expectations, mainly in the fantasy genre, which you have the hero and he is the chosen one, and he is always protected by his destiny. I didn’t want it for my books.

So essentially what Heresy is all about is trying to look behind those easy expectations in the hope of figuring out something of what’s really going on. Thus we question above all the long established assumptions that the Children of the Forest will teach Bran Stark how to defeat the Others, that Jon Snow is Azor Ahai, and will use this knowledge to save Westeros while riding astride one of Dany’s amazing dragons before taking his rightful place alongside her on the Iron Throne as Jon Targaryen First of his Name.

So what have we established instead, or at least theorised (with reasons) from the wealth of textual clues, easter eggs and cookies - and a study of the source material?