Getting Spayed

Lily Valley

Ladies! My insurance is changing at the end of the year. Sterilization is currently covered 100%. So after much internal debate I have decided to take my old ass in to get fixed.

My consultation is Monday. What should I ask my surgeon about? Anybody have any last minute thoughts?

I'm getting my tubes tied at the same time as my c-section in 3 weeks!

I'm mostly doing it because if I did become pregnant naturally (not easy for me) it would most likely result in an early miscarriage due to a hormonal imbalance that I have. I don't really want to go through that again and again.

This is my second child and I am not good at pregnancy in general, so I think it's the right decision for me to just be done.

My doctor said that the procedure only adds a minute or two to the whole surgery and is very simple. I've been warned it can cause extra soreness afterwards for a few days to a week.

But since you are getting it done independent of having a baby (I assume) it would probably be entirely different. I'm no help. I hope your appointment goes well! Good luck!

Thanks all.

Chats, that's great input. Whether I go for essure or the laparoscopy I am going to ask for a local anesthesia only. I imagine the essure procedure is horrifically painful. I know having the IUD inserted TOTALLY SUCKED. Essure seems like an IUD procedure on steroids with a lot of places a Doctor could make a wrong turn. Getting cut sounded like the gentler option.

I had read recovery time for ligation was 4-8 DAYS not weeks. Seems like it would be easier (and more fun) to catch Chlamydia and let the bacteria work it's magic.