Jump to content

2015/16 SFF Awards: Discussion


Recommended Posts

Don't be a historical illiterate then - read up on the history of the World Fantasy Convention. Plenty of long time industry professionals who helped establish the first WFC in 1975 have spoken out about why Lovecraft was chosen for the image of the award - and that is because the WFC was created to honor the fantasy and horror genres, and like it or not, H.P. Lovecraft is the most important horror author of all time. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 9 months later...

2016 World Fantasy Awards Finalists

2016 Gemmell Award Shortlist

2016 Mythopoeic Awards Finalists Announced

First Dragon Awards Presented

The winner of the Arthur C. Clarke Award for best science fiction novel published in 2015 has been announced:


The winners for the Sidewise Awards for best alternate history have been announced.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

19 hours ago, AncalagonTheBlack said:

The winner of the Arthur C. Clarke Award for best science fiction novel published in 2015 has been announced:

While it wasn't actually my favourite Adrian Tchaikovsky novel published in 2015, I do think it seems like a worthy winner (admittedly I've only read one of the other nominees), I know the award isn't necessarily looking for a Clarke-like book, but it definitely the sort of Big Ideas SF that Clarke was known for.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 3 weeks later...

2016 Gemmell Awards Winners

— posted Monday 26 September 2016 @ 9:59 am PDT




The 2016 David Gemmell Awards winners have been announced:

The Legend Award for Best Fantasy Novel

The Morningstar Award for Best Fantasy Newcomer

The Ravenheart Award for Best Fantasy Cover Art

  • Jason Chan for the cover of The Liar’s Key by Mark Lawrence (Harper Voyager)
  • Kerem Beyit for the cover of The Dread Wyrm by Miles Cameron (Gollancz)
  • Larry Elmore & Carol Russo Design for the cover of Son of the Black Sword by Larry Correia (Baen)
  • Raymond Swanland for the cover of Archaon: Lord of Chaos by Rob Sanders (Black Library)
  • Paul Young for the cover of Ruin by John Gwynne (Pan Macmillan)



2016 British Fantasy Awards Winners




— posted Sunday 25 September 2016 @ 1:41 pm PDT

The British Fantasy Society announced the British Fantasy Awards Winners on September 25, 2016 during an awards ceremony at FantasyCon 2016 at the Grand and Royal Hotels in Scarborough, England. The winners are:

Best Fantasy Novel (the Robert Holdstock Award)

Best Horror Novel (the August Derleth Award)

  • Rawblood, Catriona Ward (Weidenfeld & Nicholson)

Best Novella

Best Short Fiction

  • “Fabulous Beasts”, Priya Sharma (Tor.com 7/27/15 )
  • “When the Moon Man Knocks”, Cate Gardner (Black Static 10-11/15)
  • Strange Creation, Frances Kay (Tenebris Nyxies)
  • “The Blue Room”, V.H. Leslie (Skein and Bone)
  • “Dirt Land”, Ralph Robert Moore (Black Static 11-12/15)
  • “Hippocampus”, Adam Nevill (Terror Tales of the Ocean)

Best Collection

Best Anthology

Best Independent Press

  • Angry Robot (Marc Gascoigne)
  • The Alchemy Press (Peter Coleborn and Jan Edwards)
  • Fox Spirit (Adele Wearing)
  • Newcon (Ian Whates)

Best Non-Fiction

Best Magazine / Periodical

  • Beneath Ceasless Skies
  • Black Static
  • Holdfast Magazine
  • Interzone

Best Artist

  • Julie Dillon
  • Ben Baldwin
  • Vincent Chong
  • Evelinn Enoksen
  • Sarah Anne Langton
  • Jeffrey Alan Love

Best Comic / Graphic Novel

  • Bitch Planet (#2-5), Kelly Sue DeConnick, Valentine De Landro, Robert Wilson IV & Cris Peter (Image)
  • Red Sonja (#14-18), Gail Simone & Walter Geovani (Dynamite)
  • Nimona, Noelle Stevenson (HarperTeen)
  • Saga (#25-32), Brian K. Vaughan & Fiona Staples (Image)
  • Ms. Marvel, Vol 2: Generation Why, G. Willow Wilson, Jacob Wyatt & Adrian Alphona (Marvel)

Best Film/Television Production

  • Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell
  • Inside No. 9: The Trial of Elizabeth Gadge
  • Jessica Jones: “AKA WWJD?”
  • Mad Max: Fury Road
  • Midwinter of the Spirit
  • Star Wars: The Force Awakens

Best Newcomer (the Sydney J. Bounds Award)


Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Create New...