11 Reasons to Read the Books

Westeros

With season 5 completed (see our episode guide on the final episode for some of our thoughts), there’s a lot of discussion about what the show did right or wrong this season, interviews with various members of cast and crew, and more. But Random House—publishers, through their subsidiary Bantam, of all things A Song of Ice and Fire—asked us to provide a list of 11 reasons why fans of the show might want to give the books a try if they haven’t already!

You can find the article here.

read on >>>

Visit the Site!

Number 5 is the biggest one for me. Everyone who has o it watched the shows are losing it because they see Jon Snow dead and can't see any other way than him remaining dead.

Through dreams, prophecies, and the foreshadowing they present, the book readers are quite confident that he will live again.

Reading the source material is respectable to the author. As a writer, I can't imagine how frustrated I'd be if people watched the film adaptation of my literature without reading said literature first. :)

This was great, thanks Ran :) I really enjoyed it and will share it with shownly friends of mine.

Can anyone tell me the source of the Daenerys picture? I know it's by Magali Villeneuve, but I can't find it online anywhere except for in this article.

I'm reading the books now, and it just amazes me the way GRRM portray his characters. I think the actors are great, but many details get lost! Anyway, I'm enjoying the books. :bowdown:

This was an amazing article. One of the few that doesn't go all snobby but doesn't also become a diehard defender of the show and just tells things how they are. Great layout too.

This is the kind of thing I can share with people respectfully and not be called a 'butthurt bookfag.'