[Spoilers All] Boltons Misled - Karstarks and the GNC?

Harrenhal Haunter

This is my first time posting to the forum, so please forgive me if my information on theories is out of date, or if this is the wrong place to potentially tie together the books and the show.

In this episode, Ramsey claims, in response to Roose saying that murdering the Lord Commander of the Night's Watch, that they don't need all of the houses, but the few he does choose to list gave me pause. The scene to which I am referring starts around 31:53. Ramsey, Lord Karstark, and Roose are discussing the latest news about Sansa and her likely destination, Castle Black.

Lord Karstark: "Ned Stark's last surviving son."

[...]

Lord Karstark: "Your hold on the North will never be secure as long as a Stark can walk through that door."

[...]

Roose: "Murder the Lord Commander of the Night's Watch? You'd unite every house in the North against us."

Ramsey: "We don't need every house in the North. The Umbers, the Manderlys, and the Karstarks command more soldiers than all the other houses combined. With their support, none could challenge us."

Lord Karstark: "The Starks lost my house the day King Robb cut off my father's head. It's time for new blood in the North."

[...]

I can understand if the Karstarks are truly on the side of the Boltons, but what has happened in the show to give the Umbers and the Manderlys cause to truly be on the side of the Boltons, if anything? This could be a hint of the Great Northern Conspiracy, and when I look at Lord Karstark's words from the point of view that he is trying to goad the Boltons into a bad move, it seems as deliberate and planned as the fact that Lord Karstark was utterly unmoved by Roose being murdered in front of his eyes.