The Karens

Martell Spy

I'll start a thread on this just to get it out of U.S. Politics. Is the term sexist? Classist? I'm not an expert on Internet memes and I certainly could have been wrong on the male use of the term, it is just what I had read somewhere. An Atlantic writer used the term btw to describe Donald Trump as the Karen in Chief.

I think the main victims of the popularizing of the term are people with the actual name.

Here is a link to an article on the pejorative use of "Karen" from last February, which includes quotes from both myself and Iman Nick, another leader of The American Name Society:

https://www.vox.com/2020/2/5/21079162/karen-name-insult-meme-manager

The age stereotype associated with the insulting use of "Karen" actually fits the average age of Karens in the UK better than it does the USA -- Karen is more common for Baby Boomers in the USA than it is for Generation X women. 

49 minutes ago, Relic said:

In reply to @Heartofice

Sure. As it goes with human psychology, in general. However, you can't deny that there are "true believers" who are actively attempting to unite and spread. And those dudes ARE dangerous. 

I dunno if this is the Karens thread or the incels thread but ok.

On 'incels' I think like every kind of subgroup there are a small minority who take it to dangerous extremes, but mostly its just a bunch of sad loners who don't do anything but sit at home on the internet. People like Elliot Roger are mentally unwell and might have done some thing similar no matter what forum they hung around in.

I think it is part of a general trend of young frustrated men who get caught up in an ideology, and who want to take out their frustrations on others and the world, that could be incels, or joining the KKK, or becoming a jihadi or worst of all, joining antifa ;). I think a lot more needs to be done to understanding the motivations and issues behind these kind of trends.

3 hours ago, Martell Spy said: