A rant about Sci-fi

zakalwe7

So lately, been reading a bit of sci -fi - in particular, Blindsight by Peter Watts ( which I seem to remember getting rave reviews around these parts a while back) and The Atrocity Archives, By Charles Stross.

Both have interesting premises, are not terribly written, and had me intrigued enough to slog through at least. But..the science. It's too much. Far too much.

Ok, I'm a bit of a thicky, never studied any science other than high school physics, I kind of know what a black hole is as opposed to a worm hole and that's about the extent of my knowledge. These writers ( and they're not alone, it's an increasing trend) seem to think I have a Phd in astrophysics. ( or maybe just did first year maths at uni even - I have no clue how advanced or basic whatever they are talking about is, to be honest.)

I have no clue what they are talking about at all for large large chunks of the book, in fact.

Now I've been reading sci-fi since I was about eight, and my lack of interest or knopwledge in all things sciencey has never been that much of a handicap to enjoying the genre. Ok, I got a bit lost now and again, but say what you like about old school writers like Heinlein, Niven, Asimov - they at least tried to explain stuff in a way that a layperson can understand. And I came away from their books thinking if I didn't get it, it was most certainly my fault, not theirs.

But Sci-fi now? the assumption is not just of an intelligent reader, it's a reader that knows exactly what a mandelbrot set is ( heard of it at least), or a Parker Spiral ( dunno if that's made up or not?), understands N-space and tau dimensions and, oh hell, lets throw in some genetics and biology for good measure. One or two interesting twists, explained, I can handle - but a whole book of just science spewed at you so fast you have no idea what the plot is actually about any more? No, stop, give my bleeding brain a rest! I can't tell the made up stuff from the real stuff.