Devastated by the...

crispy

I'm fairly new to the series and brand new to this forum. In fact, I sought this place out because I don't know anyone else reading this series, and at this point I feel like I need people to talk to just to get through the rest of it!

Last night before bed, I read a few chapters as I always do. I was at the part in A Storm of Swords where Edmure marries a Frey daughter. It utterly gutted me. I had to re-read several pages to make sure I was reading it correctly.

It is not hyperbole to say that I have never been this affected by scenes from a book. I mean, I've read books where important characters die, but this was just so unexpected and so mean! I had been looking forward to Arya reuniting with Robb and her mother... and then to have that happen. At two and a half books in, I had come to believe that Robb was the central character and that the ongoing premise of the entire series was bringing this family back together. Now I honestly don't know where Martin is going with it.

Were other readers as shocked and devastated by this scene as I was? Do people think Martin is planning to kill off most of the major characters, or can we hope for a happy ending for anyone?

Hey Crispy, welcome to the boards :)

I was quite shocked by the Red Wedding, as were most of us here, I think. I thought that it was all somebody's dream until other characters started talking about it.

The past four books have told us that main characters aren't safe, so I'm wary about getting too attached to any of them. ;)

Welcome to the club. I think everyone was shocked. I really hope that in the TV series there is no hint about it until it happens.

Also, when I first read the first book I went to the Wikipedia to read more about the other books.

I had no problem spoiling myself and even so when I read the pages about the Red Wedding I was shocked, I was reading the book and hoping it would not really happen.