Fantasy economies

Alytha

Now I'm really not an expert on economy and logistics, but I know that cities need food, smiths need ore and coal, villages need all the goods they can't manufacture themselves etc...

Which fantasy worlds solve this problem in a realistic way, and which ones fail?

I'm not quite sure about The Lord of the Rings in this regard. Now the Shire and Rohan seem to be pretty much self-sufficient, and it is stated that Mordor has great field in the south where its food is grown.

But in general it is said that trade throughout Middle Earth has pretty much failed, and apart from the Shire, Rohan, Gondor and the elf kingdoms, all of Middle Earth seem to be deserted wilderness. Where are all the people to grow the food for the cities, or mine ore and stone?

How is Lothlorien supplied? Somehow I can't imagine the elves doing agriculture in the middle of the woods, and outside, people either don't know about them or don't trust them.

Or am I just thinking too much? ;)

What bothers me about LOTR is the feeling of... Anachronism. Rohan is clearly early middle-ages, and Gondor kind of "fits in" there.... But the Shire? It's entire socioeconomic structure seems to be very different, at least early-modern if not positively modern! This bugs me. It's probably me greatest pet-peeve with LOTR.

Furthermore, what do the dwarves eat?

Furthermore, what do the dwarves eat?

Gravel? ;)

That's something I wondered about too. Im the days of Moria, there was extensive trade between the elves and the dwarves, but "now" as they live in the Lonely Mountain, I don't think there was a mention of how they were supplied in the Hobbit. There was trade between the Mirkwood elves and the people of the lake, but I don't think they had much contact with the dwarves, and the elves probably didn't like them much anyway.