Rhaella Targaryen, appreciation thread

Mladen

Queen Rhaella, wife to King Aerys and mother to three very peculiar children, is one of the rare characters being mentioned so many times, and yet without further explanations. We know she suffered random beatings, we know Aerys didn`t trust her. But what was her deal? Queens certainly have power, some power in best case, but there is nothing about her. The only things we know about her are:

1. Her being beaten by Aerys

2. Aerys`s mistrust towards her (Illyrio said that to Tyrion)

3. Unhappy marriage with the King

4. A tragic love she felt for Ser Bonifer Hasty

5. her attempt to keep Viserys safe from Aerys`s madness

So, what`s her deal? Ser Barristan seems to be quite fond of her, but he isn`t reliabale source, since he is loyal to all Targs. Is there to her more than we know? What do you think?

I'm no expert in medieval law but I don't think that queens had any power against their kings. If Aerys wanted her to stay in the Red Keep that was final and no one was allowed to interfere with his abuse of her as shown in Jamie's memories.

The only reason she could leave for Dragonstone was that Aerys didn't really care, but he could have ordered her back at any time he wanted.

I think that she was a good person who happened to end up in some terrible conditions.

But why wouldn`t Aerys have trusted her? I know, he was paranoid, but Illyrio said explicitly

whilst whispers of a certain eunuch’s talents crossed the narrow sea and reached the ears of a certain king. A very anxious king, who did not wholly trust his son, nor his wife, nor his Hand, a friend of his youth who had grown arrogant and overproud. I do believe that you know the rest of this tale, is that not so

Rhaella does seem to be a truly tragic character. She could not marry the man that she loved, but was forced to into an unhappy and,

ultimately, brutally abusive marriage with her brother, all in order to fulfill a prophecy.