Wars of the Roses/ASOIAF predictions

Constantinople

My first post here, and I thought I'd share a vague theory that's occurred to me today.

I'm a recently graduated History student, and lately I've taken a fair bit of interest in the English Wars of the Roses, which GRRM has of course confirmed several times as being a major source of inspiration for the dynastic wrangling of ASOIAF's novels. I wonder, though, if the vague chronology of the Wars can be mapped onto Westeros?

To cover the Wars very briefly...

A charismatic distant claimant to the throne (Edward IV) rose up against the regime of a "Mad King" (Henry VI) seeking vengeance for the death of a family member who had long caused controversy in the royal family- in this case his father, Richard of York. He took the throne from the Mad King's armies, and ruled relatively successfully. This part is definitely "mappable" to ASOIAF.

Midway through the new King's reign, a rebellion broke out: as in ASOIAF. Historically, this resulted in Henry VI briefly retaking London and the throne, but in ASOIAF the new King defeats the rebellion. So, a vague parallel but not an ideal one.

The king dies while still relatively young, leaving two young sons, whose legitimacy is denied by their uncle, but who are supported by the powerful faction of their mother the Queen. This seems to be a tolerable match, with Stannis playing the part of Richard III, and Cersei as Elizabeth Wydeville.

So, if we look ahead to the future, here are a couple of ideas for TWOW and ADOS, should the Wars of the Roses template continue to hold relatively true.

Stannis will, as Richard III did historically, take the throne and lock up Tommen, initially making a display of mercy but probably in the end quietly disposing of the boy. The Lannisters will, as the Wydevilles historically were, be marginalised by the new regime which will nonetheless broadly be seen as unpopular and illegitimate, even less so than the Tommen one was before it.