Planetos

ser benjamin

Still a bit new here.... so please excuse if this has been discussed to death.

What do you think the Planet situation looks like? Ive been looking at my Map of the Known World, and I see a noted lack of a cold south pole.... Is the equator of this planet deep down in sothyros and ulthos? If so, the "known world" may only be 1/3 of this entire world. (we are only getting part of maybe 2 hemispheres.

My theory is this. The planet's south pole is fixed at their star. It rotates on an axis, but "wobbles" as it goes so the northern hemisphere never gets closer to the star. this explains why, even in summer, the north never really thaws out. Im not a fluid mechanics engineer or a climate scientist... but this type of planetary rotation could also account for season that last many years.

Thoughts?

My theory is this. The planet's south pole is fixed at their star. It rotates on an axis, but "wobbles" as it goes so the northern hemisphere never gets closer to the star. this explains why, even in summer, the north never really thaws out. Im not a fluid mechanics engineer or a climate scientist... but this type of planetary rotation could also account for season that last many years.

I'm not sure I understand you... it's not fixed in the sense of directly touching, because the sun can be seen up in the sky without intersecting the horizon. And it's not fixed in the sense of always pointing in that direction, because the sun goes up and down in the sky (and, actually, can be seen from the northern hemisphere).

I realize it is a bit hard to explain.... i had to use a globe when showing my friend.

The planet still rotates obviously. night and day. but where as Earth's N/S hemispheres split the time they are leaning toward the Sun, Planetos' south pole always leans toward the sun.