What is Dorne's role to play in the future?

Ser Pigeon Pie

Ok I'm kind of new to this and I'm not sure if this has been covered before, but the Martells are one of my favourite houses. Even though they were a bit of a late-comer, they have shown to be one of the most resilient and even dangerous houses in the Seven Kingdoms. It's all right there in their motto "Unbowed. Unbent. Unbroken." I definitely think they are gonna be one of the most prominent houses in the future, but what exactly does GRRM have in store for the dornish in the final two installments?

Here's a passage I found in aDwD which I found most intriguing, Prince Doran talking about the water gardens:

“The Water Gardens are my favorite place in this world, ser. One of my ancestors had them built to please his Targaryen bride and free her from the dust and heat of Sunspear. Daenerys was her name. She was sister to King Daeron the Good, and it was her marriage that made Dorne part of the Seven Kingdoms. The whole realm knew that the girl loved Daeron’s bastard brother Daemon Blackfyre, and was loved by him in turn, but the king was wise enough to see that the good of thousands must come before the desires of two, even if those two were dear to him. It was Daenerys who filled the gardens with laughing children. Her own children at the start, but later the sons and daughters of lords and landed knights were brought in to be companions to the boys and girls of princely blood. And one summer’s day when it was scorching hot, she took pity on the children of her grooms and cooks and serving men and invited them to use the pools and fountains too, a tradition that has endured till this day.”

And later, to Obara: