@Eira, Lummel

Ahh was that wonderfull, the cup of coffee at the street cafe, spring sun heeting my back and inside myself that wonderfull feeling of full insight. And now all gone...

But I should have knowen from the start. There never is an easy explanation and timlines are bitches. After all I studied history once...

So what I took for an insight turns to a question: If we take the wall for a division line, why is it so far north.

So You find me clueless again but happily chewing on two interesting posts :)

Finally the brother swears this vow for "this night and all nights to come." The Watch began during the Long Night, and the Long Night will come again. The Watch must be ready.

A splendid analysis and one I agree with wholeheartedly, except in the matter of timing. I think it is pretty obvious that the Watch wasn't formed to garrison the Wall at the outset, but I'm not at all convinced it predates the Wall. As we've discussed before, the Pact with the Children endured until the Andal invasion. Because the Kingdom of the North held out against the Andals the Children should have been safe there but instead they and the other Old Races were forced to flee beyond the Wall. We've tried to tie this in to the Night's King business and I think it might be worth exploring his actual connection with the Watch because the most sensible reading of events is that the Children were betrayed. The price of peace with Andal Westeros may have been to allow the Nights Watch in to defeat the Children, harry them northwards and then establish garrisons for the first time along the already existing Wall. This would also explain why most of the Watch are and apparently always have been followers of the Lord of Light (whether one or seven) rather than Northmen true to the Old Gods.

Edit: spelling