Is moon tea just an excuse for Martin to have "modern" sexually liberated women in his series?

total1402

I'am sure I remember on my degree course it being mentioned several times that there simply was no means of birth control in the Early Modern Period or Middle Ages; infanticide excepting which you find listed on church records. It does seem as though he wanted his female characters (Asha n Arriane especially) to be sexually liberated in the modern sense when, really, they wouldn't have access to birth control to prevent having bastards and could also catch STDs. Which is not a modern phenomena in the slightest, images of sexual diseases like syphilis were strongly associated in art with sexually uninhibited women like prostitutes and was part of the reason for immense social prejudice against this behaviour. I mean the period I studied, 1700-1815, most people married in their mid twenties and given the absence of illegitimate children, or pregnant women being married relative to population, its likely most of the population was celebate until marriage. Whilst in Westeros, its pretty clear that everybody is at it and even most peasants seem quite glib about being with multiple sexual partners. I suppose this does make the book more readable and relatable to the audiences. It also allows him to highlight the series bawdiness versus traditional fantasy which avoids sexual issues. But its not realistic because he invented a widely available and reliable means of birth control in the middle ages; when really this didn't happen until I think the 20th century. He also hasn't considered the role STDs would play in people being averse to having sex with multiple partners.