The "Necessity" of Scenes Like That

So the thread on "that scene" was getting a bit exhaustive, so I wanted to round about another discussion about the "necessity" of scenes. I write for a living, and I've written quite a few novels. Now, I'm not such a fan of what D&D are doing, but I do acknowledge that I must treat the books and show as two different entities, now more than ever. With that being said, D&D must tread carefully and make sure that, with their limited time, each scene must build up to something. Every second counts on screen, especially with ten episodes.

This scene certainly had necessity. Sansa is alienated in Winterfell, for sure. It seems like everyone around her has committed a crime against her family. Theon "killed" her brothers. Ramsay destroyed Theon. Roose stabbed Robb. Walda is related to one of the orchestrators of the Red Wedding. Myranda despises her for this arranged marriage. She surely has no friends in Winterfell, but she demonstrates her independence and will anyways in the bathtub scene. We're rooting for Sansa, clearly.

This scene, as difficult as it is to watch, is the cherry on the cake for Sansa - AND for Theon. I believe that this hammers the nail in Ramsay's coffin. He has gone too far this time. Sansa is clearly symbolic of the North - she is bowed, bent, and broken, literally and figuratively. She is at her worst - even Joffrey wasn't this cruel to her as to seize her virginity via rape. Ramsay now rivals Joffrey in my eyes. Yes, we know Ramsay's bad, but now *he* has hurt a character that we care about.