Cersei's Plot

Prehistoric

Well, I'm a newbie so if there's anything I miss ( which is likely ) bear with me, sorry if this has been asked before. So I was wondering Cersei's plot to get Robert out of the way before he comes back from his hunt to be told of the incest by Ned. It seems that Cersei's plan i very random and based on too many factors. I mean get him drunk and then ? What if he falls asleep, what if his entourage takes him back to rest, what if he passes out, all non-lethal ends as far as Cersei's plan go. Why not something more concrete ? Poison that takes it's time, hell even some assassin or FM ( they got the money anyways ). My point is how could she say '' In the game of thrones you ....... blablabla '' to Eddards face when nothing was certain ?

Poison would've been too obvious. And then you'd have all the Robert-loyalist realm asking for answers. A FM would be expensive even for the Lannisters and the FM price varies with the victim's stauts. Assassinating a King would be an unmesured amount of credit and it was Tywin's gold still. Why waste all that if your son is already heir and there other far more cheap methods? Cersei knew Robert would be trying to fight the boar himself considering the crazy-fool he was for battles and him drunk would make this very hard for Robert to conquer.

And this:

Robert was a professional drinker, he doesn't just pass out.

Also, Cersei was not really that stupid. Not until her son's death.

P.S. Welcome to the forums! ;)

History is littered with 'hunting accidents' for kings, add in the spiked booze and Cersei was simply playing the odds.

Playing quite poor odds with her life and her children's lives on the line. It is a weird bit of ASOIAF I really want someone to ask GRRM about it so he can maybe explain the reasoning.

Cersei is.....eh, strategically challenged, well let's just say she isn't the brightest person out there .