Heresy 26

Black Crow

Welcome to Heresy 26

If you haven’t been here before you’ll find that this is a wide ranging and pretty eclectic thread, based on the belief that what we were told in AGoT was mince; that Jon is not going to turn out to be Azor Ahai and will not ride dragons to victory over the Others to earn his place on the Iron Throne. As GRRM himself said in a recent interview:

…it was always my intention: to play with the reader’s expectations. Before I was a writer I was a voracious reader and I am still, and I have read many, many books with very predictable plots. As a reader, what I seek is a book that delights and surprises me. I want to not know what is gonna happen. For me, that’s the essence of storytelling and for this reason I want my readers to turn the pages with increasing fever: to know what happens next. There are a lot of expectations, mainly in the fantasy genre, which you have the hero and he is the chosen one, and he is always protected by his destiny. I didn’t want it for my books.

There are various story arcs being acted out in the Song of Ice and Fire, often intertwined, but here we try not always successfully to concentrate on the North, and in particular Jon’s continuing story arc (“Oh, you think he’s dead do you?” – GRRM), the true identity of the Others and the relationship GRRM has admitted that they have with those deeply creepy Children in the darkness.

If you’ve been around the thread for a while, you’ll know what it’s about. If you’re new, don’t hesitate to ask, and if you have the fortitude for it links to the previous chapters of the thread are given below.

Above all don’t be intimidated. Offer your opinions and theories and see what happens. Even if its something we’ve discussed before your time, we’ll be happy to explain what went down and it usually turns out that a fresh angle can be illuminating. One poster recently asked what we Heretics believe in and defend? The short answer is that we don’t.