Growing strong - fans not so young, come out of your closets!

Woman of War

With spring taking its time to show up here I was shivering so hard this morning that my teeth popped out. And then it took me a while to recover them because they had slipped under my wheelchair and I had to put my crutches away and could not find the teeth without my glasses on..........What have we been talking about??.........

Come to think of, I may be out of the typical age range of these forums. Dangerously close to the age of our favorite author.

So I am female and at the wrong (or better!) side of fifty, politically aware and very interested with an active background. I am a freelancing artist.

I have always read fantasy, started with Lovecraft, Tolkien, LeGuinn and McKillip. Actually I got into it through political SF like Orwell and Huxley. But I had not read any fantasy for about ten years, having been disappointed by everything that tried poorly to imitate Tolkien.

Then I took up J. Rowling, Cornelia Funke and Jonathan Stroud together with my kids.

This made me open for reading ASOIAF after having seen the first episodes right after they had been broadcasted.

I got the idea for this thread from the "OG's" topic: to those of, say, 35+!

I would really like to know if the onlook and interpretation of the story and its characters might be different if a reader i s not so young anymore and quite far away from school and college theses, already having quite a bit of RL biography. I am aware that many posters here are the age of my own kids (hopefully they themselves are not among them, since they would recognize my avatar :) ).

How does this influence the perception of the books, given that many fans are quite young and the author himself is even some years older than I am.

Any ideas?

Senior citizens like me, come out of your closets, there must be more of us, take out your hearing aids and cry out loud: We are the rulers of Winter, Martin is one of us!