Heresy 25

Black Crow

Welcome to Heresy 25

If you’ve been here before it needs no introduction, but if you’re new or have simply been intimidated (or bemused) by the fact there are 24 earlier (and very fast moving) incarnations, its actually pretty straightforward – on the surface at least.

This time I’d like to start by quoting part of what GRRM said in his recent Barcelona interview:

…it was always my intention: to play with the reader’s expectations. Before I was a writer I was a voracious reader and I am still, and I have read many, many books with very predictable plots. As a reader, what I seek is a book that delights and surprises me. I want to not know what is gonna happen. For me, that’s the essence of storytelling and for this reason I want my readers to turn the pages with increasing fever: to know what happens next. There are a lot of expectations, mainly in the fantasy genre, which you have the hero and he is the chosen one, and he is always protected by his destiny. I didn’t want it for my books.

The Heresies are legion, but what unites us is a very strong belief that the outcome assumed by so many readers; that Jon is really the son of Rhaegar Targaryen and Lyanna Stark, and is destined to be recognised as Azor Ahai and ride a dragon to victory over the Others, is not going to happen.

ADwD opened a much greyer (if not darker) path for Jon and everything now points to his future being bound up with the North and Winter, perhaps as the King of Winter come again, rather than with the Iron Throne.

There are various story arcs being acted out in the Song of Ice and Fire, often intertwined, but here we try not always successfully to concentrate on the North, Jon’s story arc (“Oh, you think he’s dead do you?” – GRRM) and the true identity of the Others and the relationship GRRM has admitted them to have with those creepy Children in the darkness.