Reflections on teaching

naz

I've been teaching college-level design students for about 7 years now (5 years, full-time) and I often reflect on many aspects of teaching such as pedagogy, attitudes, paperwork, administration, motivation, and a ton of other things.

Lately, I've been struggling with expectations. There's a huge gap between getting work that meets or exceeds your expectations and work that fails to meet them. And I (like most teachers, I suspect) will experience both in short cycles, and I myself will tend to cycle through highs and lows. I try not to let the lows affect my performance, but it's hard to stay motivated when my students are in the doldrums and I can't figure out why except to think perhaps that my expectations are set too high.

Often, I'll start a project or assignment and get excited by what I expect to get from the students, which is good because it motivates me to do the grunt work to develop that project further and make it really interesting, but when you fail to see the students get as motivated, it's such an incredible downer that it's hard to recover.

The worst part is when the failure of students to meet expectations leads to cynicism. My immediate reaction is to get disappointed and cynical and I know this is a bad, bad thing to communicate to students and I usually realize that right away and recover. They say you should maintain a distance in teaching and not take such disappointment so personally, but hell... I'm really really passionate about it and when I see my students not sharing in it, despite my best efforts, I can't help but take it personally, if even for a few minutes.