The Pact of Ice and Fire

Ygritte.

There is mention of a pact between the Targaryens and Starks regarding a royal princess marrying into the Stark family (a promise that was never followed through).

"Lord Cregan Stark reaped many rewards for his loyal support of King Aegon III ... even if it was not a royal princess marrying into his family, as had been agreed in the Pact of Ice and Fire made when the doomed prince Jacaerys Velaryon had flown to Winterfell upon his dragon."

Seeing as the main series is called 'A Song of Ice and Fire', is this foreshadowing that such a pact will be fulfilled (finally).  Thus uniting the two old families in a very 'War of the Roses' style of ending.

e.g. Sansa and Aegon - more bittersweet I guess bc they are not extremely high profile characters and the very built-up Dany doesn't fulfil her ambitions // Jon and Daenerys  (Ice (+fire?) and Fire)

(not really shocking, but I decided to hide it anyway because I've never used the spoiler addition before :rolleyes:)   

OR (this was my first thought)  Jon is the symbolism of this union, R+L=J etc and is a core protagonist, cute naww.

Yes. That is clearly a theory. It could be that Jon Snow is already a Stark-Targ offspring. Others see Dany and Jon hooking up at some point. There are threads on both these theories.

I tend to think it's just a bit more foreshadowing of Rhaegar and Lyanna. But in case you're unaware there was more on this that didn't make it into the book:

"For space reasons, details around the pact -- particularly certain scurrilous details from one Mushroom, involving Prince Jacaerys allegedly falling in love with and secretly marrying Lord Cregan’s bastard half-sister -- had to be cut. However, the core of it is as it says in the book: Cregan agreed to support Rhaenyra for the promise of a Targaryen bride."

https://www.reddit.com/r/asoiaf/comments/2zd5yf/spoilers_all_amaa_w_elio_linda_of_westerosorg/