Driving while stoned or getting stoned then immediately driving… a bad idea… right?

Ser Scot A Ellison

Okay, I’m going to share a Twitter exchange between myself and another individual.  I’m not a user of Marijuana.  I likely never will be.  That said I think it ought to be legal and if used recreationally… just be careful.

The individual with whom I’m interacting claims I have no clue what I’m talking about and that there is no problem with smoking a joint before driving or while driving.  She isn’t wrong.  I have no first had experience with that.  However, I know the impacts of alcohol on driver performance while operating a motor vehicle and it seems to me (and the CDC agrees) that smoking a joint and then immediately hopping into the drivers seat, or smoking a joint while driving, seems like a very bad plan.  

Am I not correct?

I used to drive stoned back when I was in Uni in Pakistan - where the law is lax at best lol (plus I was a stupid kid). Luckily nothing bad ever happened, but I do remember staring into space with glazed eyes whilst people honked angrily at me since I'd utterly missed the changing traffic signals. I also remember feeling like a 10 minute drive actually took an hour or alternately, an hour long drive passed in minutes.

So not advisable, imo. 

For the most part, the biggest issue with driving while stoned is slower reaction times. It's less how you drive and more how you react to those who drive around you. it's very very different from driving while drunk and in my opinion, not equally dangerous, but it's still dangerous.

I suppose it is a matter of tolerance. I can smoke a spliff that would drop a baby elephant without actually getting stoned.

Mobile phone use at the wheel is far more dangerous.

Having said that, I am vehemently anti-drunk/stoned driving.