Climate Changes Suck. Share your experiences

XSarellaX

Hey everyone! I'm new to general chatter, so maybe this subject has been brought up before, so forgive me if that is the case :)

Let me contextualize things. I'm Brazilian, and Brazil is facing the biggest drought in recorded history since last year. It is raining this month, but not nearly enough to make up for December and January, or for last year.

To make matters worse, our country has always been hot, but it's getting even hotter. In the place where I live (Southeast), I was used to temperatures below 35ºC, and even that occured in specially hot days. This year, we had two weeks of temperatures ranging from 35ºC to 40ºC. Every day. I'm only in my early 20's, but I don't think this has ever happened before.

I have no proof this is strictly due to global warming, but two years with precipitation below average seem really suspicious to me.

So far, my only direct experience with climate change was not getting to wear my pretty winter clothes as much as I wanted to, because we are only getting one or two really cold weeks a year. I think it's only now starting to sink in how much our lives can change due to all of these environmental issues....

To make matters worse, our country has always been hot, but it's getting even hotter. In the place where I live (Southeast), I was used to temperatures below 35ºC, and even that occured in specially hot days. This year, we had two weeks of temperatures ranging from 35ºC to 40ºC. Every day.

You're saying a 5 degree Celsius change in what range of time?

Isn't that drought more the result of deforestation? Anyways, while global warming certainly doesn't help, two unusually warm summers in a row isn't that extraordinary a thing. I remember a series of three unusually hard winters in a row back in the 80s...