The Rich and Powerful Who Abuse the System: the contempt topic

polishgenius

Imagine feeling bold enough say that out loud, on camera, and being quite right about the boldness coz no consequences whatsoever will come from saying it.

Exactly the same attitude as the studio owners about the writer's strike, though- openly waiting them out till October coz they think that when they have to turn the heating on the strikes will cave.

I saw this online and was immediately outraged.

Of course making unemployment higher is a terrible idea and most of what he's saying is bollocks.

However there is an element of truth in there. I do think there are fields and sectors where employees feel a bit arrogant about their position and get quite demanding, where they don't deserve it. I work in the digital field and there are fuck ton of people who don't really do very much, get paid pretty well and get upset if you ever even acknowledge it. I'm sure there are a lot of office jobs where that is pretty much the case, and it's aligns pretty well with those 'bullshit jobs' that don't really add a lot of value. That's one of the reasons that a lot of digital firms are letting workers go, with very little loss in productivity, because they realise they've over hired and haven't been paying attention.

Obviously worker wages are generally stagnating, workers have very little actual power, and there are sectors where people are treated like shit, overworked and underpaid, which is why his ideas are just nonsense. But there are so sectors where things have been cushy for a while and we are all taking the piss a little bit. 

CEOs do very little work and make tremendous sums of money for it, meanwhile the people at the bottom work their asses off for scraps. This is basically a let them eat cake comment and eventually people will revolt. We're seeing it in different ways across the world. And it's worth noting the people at the top are not any smarter on average than the general public.